Body Language MJ-CJB Part 7

                                        Michael Jackson Sixty Minutes Interview

CJB:  Hello and welcome to another video tutorial on Understanding Body Language:  Liars Cheats and Happy Feet. So tonight I’m going to play a new Michael Jackson video I have found and the last Michael Jackson body language video I did was with Martin Bashir when he was involved in Michael Jackson’s life for a couple of months and that was broadcast in February 2003 and this was taken on Christmas day 2003.   A few months have passed since Michael Jackson spent some time with Martin Bashir and that interview took place so I will start this video, bear in mind this is the Sixty Minute interview that Michael did a few years ago. So then let’s start at the beginning and see if anything has changed since when he did his interview about a year previous.  (Starts video) 

Michael Jackson:  Just because it’s in print, doesn’t mean it’s the gospel. People write negative things because they feel that’s what sells. Good news to them doesn’t sell.

Time: 01:09    CJB:  So nothing much to read there.  Obviously I haven’t seen Michael Jackson in a while but I’ve got a good idea of his baseline now and what he does when he’s showing honesty, potential deception, guilt, shame, things like that so there was nothing much there to read, let’s move on to the next question which was about the police treating him very, very  badly so let’s get to there.

MJ:  One time I asked to use the restroom and they said sure it’s right around the corner there.  (Pauses video)

Time: 01:09    CJB:  There you go that’s an example of a gestural emblem. That’s where you point in the direction of something so even if Michael Jackson wasn’t talking there we would understand that what that meant by pointing in a direction so. (Rewinds video)

MJ:  And they said sure it’s right around the corner there (CJB points to Michael pointing in a direction).  Once I went in the restroom they locked me in there for like forty five minutes. There was doo doo feces thrown all over the walls, the floor, the ceiling and it stunk so bad. Then one of the policemen came by… (Pauses video)

Time: 01:09    CJB:  So let’s just rewind that. So what we’ve got there is his use of illustrators, which we use our hands to articulate the actual meaning and so let’s watch this again and look how Michael uses the example of putting something on a wall by using these kinds of gestures here.  So let’s look at it again. (Continues video)

MJ:  (continues) for like forty five minutes. There was doo doo feces thrown all over the walls, the floor, the ceiling and it stunk so bad. (Pauses video)

Time: 02:27    CJB:  But he ends with a pacifying gesture which is a head scratch. Note that there so I think what he is that there is potentially more to it so he might be withholding information. I don’t think he falsifying what’s happened here because his illustrators suggest otherwise, however with the pacifying gesture he makes to his right temple could mean he could be concealing some kind of information. (Rewinds video)

MJ: the floor, (points to Michael scratching his temple) the ceiling and it stunk so bad and one of the policeman came by the window and he made a sarcastic remark.  He said “does it smell good enough for you in there?  How do you like the smell is it good?  And I just simply said it’s alright, it’s ok so I just sat there and waited..

Ed Bradley:  for forty five minutes?

MJ:  Yeah for forty five minutes, about forty five minutes and then one… (Pauses video)

Time: 03:12    CJB:  So he had a repeat on words there “forty-five minutes, forty-five minutes. If we scoot back to everything here, he’s not articulating with his hands anymore but one dead giveaway of honesty is no speech errors whatsoever.  If you were to relate a story that has actually happened you shouldn’t have any speech errors.  What’s Michael doing now?  (Rewinds video)

MJ:  He said “does it smell good enough for you in there?  How do you like the smell is it good?  And I just simply said it’s alright, it’s ok so I just sat there and waited.

EB:  for forty five minutes?

MJ:  Yeah for forty five minutes, about forty five minutes and then one

Time: 03:45    CJB:  Notice how the shame gesture comes in there, now there’s not a lot of micro expression work on shame done but for me this looks like shame. (Replays video)

MJ:  about forty five minutes.

Time: 03:55    CJB:  Now what does that look like to you?  Shame, so he’s deeply ashamed of what has happened to him. You can see with the eyelids coming down (points to Michael’s eyes) and the eyes also coming down as well. So we are seeing tremendous shame there from Michael Jackson which comes from the story which also comes from honesty.  (Continues video)

MJ:  then one cop would come by and say” You’ll be out in a second; you’ll be out in a second.” Then there would be another ten minutes added on and then another fifteen minutes added on. They did this on purpose.

(Screen:  Michael on giving his bed to people…)

EB:  and I’m going to quote here “Why can’t you share you bed, the most loving thing to do is to share your bed with someone”.  As we sit here today do you still think that it’s acceptable to share your bed with children?

MJ:  Of course, of course, why not? If you’re going to be a pedophile, if you’re going to be Jack the Ripper, if you’re going to be a murderer then it’s not a good idea. That I’m not.

Time:  04:54   CJB:  Let’s just rewind that slightly. Now Michael Jackson was asked this question by Martin Bashir a few months prior to this interview and Michael’s response is exactly the same as the one he gave with Martin Bashir. Do you know what happens when we do that? It’s because it comes with honesty. So Michael Jackson here is showing the hallmarks of honesty. So when we’re being honest about something we don’t use strong words such as “pedophile” and such as “murderer”.  We distance ourselves away from things that we actually are but we are quite comfortable talking about them if we are not.  So let’s watch that again (rewinds video)

EB:  t’s acceptable to share your bed with children?

MJ:  Of course, of course, why not? If you’re going to be a pedophile, (CJB:  Strong statement) if you’re going to be Jack the Ripper, (CBJ:  Strong) if you’re going to be a murderer (CJB:  Strong) then it’s not a good idea. That I’m not.  (CJB:  That’s fine).  That’s how we were raised and I didn’t sleep in the bed with the child and even if I did its okay, I slept on the floor. I gave the bed to the child.

Time: 05:54    CJB:  Michael uses terminology he’s used before.  However again, if we notice the end there pacifying gesture where he touches the same area of his head again so a pacifying gesture (focuses on Michael touching his head) There you go!  Let’s just scoot back so we just pause that one (rewinds to where Michael touches his head) There we go so making a pacifying gesture towards the eye.  Again, I don’t think that with falsifying information and there might be more to do that which has been well documented. So there may be more to that but I don’t think there anything sexual in his eyes or in his voice to make those associations so obviously Michael is withholding slight information there. So let’s move on(Continues video)

Screen: (Michael’s love…)

MJ:  I will never stop helping and loving people the way Jesus said to. He said continue to love, always love. Bring on the children, imitate the children, Not childish but childlike.

Time: 06:54    CJB:  Fine, that was fine.

Screen:  (What’s wrong with sharing your bed?) 

MJ:  What’s wrong with sharing your bed? I didn’t say I slept in the bed, even if I did sleep in the bed its okay. I’m not going to do anything sexual to a child. It’s not where my heart is. I would slit my wrists first.  I would never do anything like that. That’s not Michael Jackson I’m sorry!

Time: 07:13   CJB:  Let me just rewind that because this is important so what’s wrong with sharing your bed? So let hear what Michael says here.  (Rewinds video)

MJ:  What’s wrong with sharing your bed? I didn’t say I slept in the bed, even if I did sleep in the bed its okay. I’m not going to do anything sexual to a child. It’s not where my heart is. I would slit my wrists first.  I would never do anything like that. That’s not Michael Jackson I’m sorry!

Time:  07:24   CJB:  There you go so he’s using the same gesture he used with Martin Bashir which is the finger point. So it’s getting away from it so “leave me alone” (CJB points) (replays video)

MJ:  even if I did sleep in the bed it’s okay. I’m not going to do anything sexual to a child. It’s not where my heart is. I would slit my wrists first.

Time:  07:43   CJB:  So he’s using illustrators again there to show what he would do to his wrists. So again that is honest, that is real emotion coming via his limbic responses so he’s using the gestural emblem of a wrist slice so obviously he is indicating potential suicide and he’s not afraid to use these harsh terminologies Michael.  Which again, if you do your studies on non-verbal communication and criminology it is a good sign of honest, truthful behaviour (replays video)

MJ: I’m not going to do anything sexual to a child. It’s not where my heart is. I would slit my wrists first. That’s not Michael Jackson I’m sorry (steeples hands)

Time:  08:23   CJB:  And that is an example of a steepling gesture which Michael is using just there. It just comes. That there when we place our hands together so it makes like a church, it’s called a “steepling” gesture and we use that when we are confident about what we are delivering.  So Michael Jackson there is using a steepling gesture which you wouldn’t do if you were being deceptive, falsifying information or lying you wouldn’t steeple.  (Continues video)

MJ:  That’s not Michael Jackson (steeples hands) I’m sorry. That’s someone else.

Screen:  (What impact the trial had on his career and media overdoing that his record is not selling….)

EB:  How has it impacted you’re….

MJ:  My album is number one all over the world, all over the world.  America is the only because …. I don’t want to say too much.

EB:  But it’s not number one in the United States?

Time:  09:08    CJB:  If we flash the micro expression there from Michael (rewinds video)

MJ:  America’s the only one because… I don’t want to say too much.

Time:  09:15    CJB:  Massive sadness. Look at those eyes and head down. (Rewinds video)

MJ:  America’s the only one because… I don’t want to say too much.

Time:  09:23    CJB:  There you go look at this, he’s deeply upset about it

EB:  But it’s not number one in the United States.

MJ:  It was a conspiracy yeah. I don’t want to say too much. I’m done.

Time:  09:35    CJB:  Now there’s a gestural emblem if I’ve ever seen one. What does that mean? (Replays video) It’s almost very universal. Hand up. “Stop I’m done, stop talking about it. “

Screen:  To the Fans

Time:  09: 47   CJB:  So to the fans.

EB:  What would you say your fans who have supported you through all of this and who today… some of them might have questions? What would you say to them?

MJ:  Well, I would tell that I love them very much and I ummm they’ve learned about me and know about me from a distance but if you really want to know about me there’s a song I wrote which is the most honest song I’ve ever written. It’s the most autobiographical song I’ve ever written and its called Childhood.

Time:  10:22   CJB:  Which is good all in the right places (points to Michael as he speaks) Michael’s song Childhood is played.  CJB:  Yes and personally I’ve never heard this song before so I will try and send you people a link.

MJ:  That’s the one they should listen to and thank you for your support around the world. I love you with all my heart.

Time: 10: 50   CJB:  Now that is an example of how sometimes body language can get mixed up in different context. If you look at Michael Jackson’s head shakes here he is showing “no”

MJ:  you for your support around the world. (I love you with all my heart. (Michael’s head shakes no)

Time: 11:00   CJB:  So Michael Jackson is showing “no” but if we mute this and we scoot back and if you didn’t hear what Michael Jackson was saying you wouldn’t have associated that head shake here being grateful for everyone’s help. That’s an example how we sometimes get body language oh so wrong and that’s why it’s so important to establish people’s baselines before we make judgement on evaluating truthfulness or detecting deception.  Are we nearly finished?

MJ:  I don’t take any of it for granted, any of it and I love them dearly all over the world.

Time: 11:43   CJB:  So there we go head shakes in the right place there.  So there you go that’s the end of the vid and I would like to thank that guy that put the video on.  That’s my video analysis of Michael Jackson complete.  Now than before I end this video I’ve got to say that I am tremendously impartial when it comes to body language videos and I am a big fan of Michael Jackson and was a big fan of his music but if he were showing the hallmarks of deception I would have called this “down the middle”. I don’t show favouritism to anybody you know, so please bear that in mind.  I call things as I see them and throughout my years of training. So I don’t take preference to my own personal likes or Kat’s personal likes I see things down the middle. I’ve got to say again that Michael Jackson here is showing hallmarks of honesty. Even a year after his story and statements are identical and that comes with honesty. When we falsify information, it’s very difficult to remember what information we’ve just said. Michael does make pacifying gestures on the head but I think that’s more concealed information than falsified information. So all you Michael Jackson fans out there you will be glad to know that all the Michael Jackson videos I’ve done I can see repeated hallmarks of honesty and he is completely innocent in my eyes.

So with that in mind, I hope you enjoyed that video.  Make sure you check out my other body language videos.  Understanding Body Language: Liars, Cheats and Happy Feet, I’ve got a Facebook page if you would like to join as well. It’s a charity so if you’d like to join us on Facebook and send a message I will send you the link. So I hope you enjoyed that and I look forward to speaking to all you soon so from everyone here bye for now.

This entry was posted in Body Language, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Body Language MJ-CJB Part 7

  1. Pingback: Body Language MJ-CJB Part 7 | mjjjusticeproject | TodayCourse

Leave a Reply

