1993 NAACP Image Award- Michael Jackson

MJ: I really wasn’t expecting to win this — I was — I love you all very, very much. (Puts his hand to his heart) Thank you to the NAACP and all of you. You’re very dear sweet loving people thank you so much.

Presenter: I have the honour and pleasure of presenting a special silver anniversary Entertainer Of The Year Award to Michael Jackson. Now, if you’ve never seen Michael perform live, nothing I say will help you comprehend how we feel about him. Sometimes people joke that Michael is a brother from another planet, well we recognize that Michael is an international star with no peers and we don’t mean to take away anything from his fans around the world because they are beautiful red, yellow and white but if you’re black you know what planet Michael is from.

Now back in 1967 when Michael was 9 years old the Jackson’s won a local talent contest at Gary Indiana’s Memorial Auditorium, a year later, Martin Luther King Jr. was slain on a balcony in Memphis. For this young manchild to become the greatest entertainer in American history is a feat that not only defies the odds but if you’ve seen Michael perform you know, it also defies the law of gravity.

Now as a child he had all the electric moves of James Brown and Jackie Wilson, if you’ve seen Michael perofrm you know why, as a solo artist, his music and dance styles have influenced pop culture around the world. Now if you’ve seen Michael perform no one has to explain why he has two of the best selling albums of all time, Thriller, the largest selling album in the history of the recording industry with sales in excess of 50 million copies and the first and only album in history to generate seven top singles followed by the phenominally successful Bad. We watch in amazement as his musical honesty continues to the quadruple platinum Dangerous. If you’ve seen Michael perform you understand that We Are The World is not just a song but an anthem. The brother’s soul is committed to charity, the United Negro College Fund, TJ Artel, The Foundation for Lukemia and Cancer Research amd he donated all his royalties from Man in the Mirror to Ronald McDonald’s Camp Goodtime.

He is a visionary who single handedly has made a generation understand the power of the music video. Michael nothing we can say can tell the world how much we care about you so we have chosen one of your songs to sing your praises. Here are The Voices of Faith Choir featuring gospel sensation Daryl Coley.

(Choir sings Will You Be There?)

Little girl: When I touch the earth I feel the people (inaudible) when I look up at the sky, I think of nothing I cannot reach. When I listen to the wind it tells me the secrets of my destiny or when I listen to the music it’s Michael Jackson that has inspired me. Congratulations Mr. Jackson you are the entertainer of the year.

Little boy: On behalf of all the children of the world we love you.

MJ: First I would like to say thank you to my mother who is here tonight, she’s the one in blue. Thank you for giving me life, I really mean that, I love you (Fans scream I love you) I love you too! There are two things that the NAACP stands for which are the most important things in my life; freedom and equality. In every person there is a secret song in their heart it says “I am free” it sings “I am one” this is the natural feeling of every child to be free as the wind, to be one with every other child. All the troubles in the world are caused by forgetting this feeling and when I perform my connection it’s with people and it’s just to remind me of that – to be free and to be one. In this spirit the NAACP has done it’s cherished work. Thank you for having the faith to see that I share your work for I deeply feel I do, I accept this award on behalf of the world’s healing when all our brothers and sisters will be as free and equal as we are today. I love you so much and I’m very honored and thank you for this award. Thank you so much.

This entry was posted in In His Words, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1993 NAACP Image Award- Michael Jackson

  1. Pingback: Bryton McClure – “God Bless my friend, Michael Jackson…” | mjjjusticeproject

Leave a Reply

