Four Years Missing Michael Jackson

Screen shot 2013-06-06 at 9.07.15 PM

“I realized that I’ve got family all over the world. Everywhere I go, because my fans really show me the love and I love them just as much.” ~ Michael Jackson

Last year, we were fortunate enough to visit Holly Terrace on Michael’s birthday and lingered a little longer than planned.  Just before departing a woman came with copies of the Los Angeles Daily News and kindly showed us a full page ad dedicated to Michael from fans from all over the world. Screen shot 2013-06-06 at 9.09.34 PM

We were so touched by this that we vowed that next year we would find the group responsible for this special tribute and support their next endeavor.

On facebook a beautiful soul from California, by the name of Jody La coordinates this loving effort. We spoke to her and she kindly explained how this effort formulated:

” We were talking about missing Michael and someone suggested that we send flowers to represent a certain number of days that we were missing Michael. I don’t remember who actually came up with the 1000. It was definitely a group effort.  We were all inspired just by our love for Michael and really the sisterhood and bonds we have formed because of it. The silver lining in the dark cloud of losing Michael, has been gaining all these wonderful friends from all over the world. I have been bringing messages to Michael for these girls for a few years. It is the least I can do, since I am here and they are all so far away. They just want to be able to send their love to him and like I said before I am honored to bring their messages and love to him. The only thing is of course, I wish he were here to see how much we love him.”

On March 21, 2012, (which happened to be 1000 days since Michael had been gone) this group of fans from all over the world came together and had 1001 roses sent inside to Michael with the flags from each country that participated-

Screen shot 2013-06-06 at 8.34.59 PM

It is so important to keep Michael’s legacy alive and this group is so filled with the spirit of Michael.  Jody says she is “honored to be able to give fans from all over the world the opportunity to send in a flower and message to Michael because his fans are truly amazing.”

Screen shot 2013-06-06 at 8.42.28 PMAlso accompanying the flags and roses is a Message book filled with heartfelt messages of love and remembrance to Michael from each fan.  Screen shot 2013-06-06 at 8.47.03 PM

We truly believe in Michael’s goodness and his ability to look beyond race, culture and creed and just love unconditionally inspires us – It is his message of brotherhood that brought this group together and the same mission that will make more and more people join it.

Jody explained futher about the Ad – “On  June 25, 2012, some Italian fans had done a small ad, in their local newspaper expressing how much they missed Michael. I thought it was so beautiful, so I suggested it to the 1000 days group. We thought we would be a bit different and try to educate in a way others who don’t know who Michael is and try to continue his legacy in some way. So we decided to use a picture of Michael along with one of his quotes. The idea is also to put something positive in the news on each anniversary of his death as well as his birth.”

This June 25th the goal of this group is to purchase a different full page ad with an inspirational quote and picture of Michael again in the LA -Daily News and send inside Holly Terrace 1462 roses ( the number of days Michael has been missed)  Please join in this endeavor –

Facebook –  Four years missing Michael ~1462 days without Michael. and their Pay pal email to buy your roses and contribute toward the Ad-  missingMichael1000days@yahoo.com

You may also use the same email to send the message you wish to be included in the Message Book.

We will make every effort to update the rose count on  a timely basis but do please check the facebook for important updates from Jody La.

6/10/2013 UPDATE- From Jody –

“First we have made the goal for a full page ad in the Daily News ♥ and

Second, I just spoke to Forest Lawn and they have lowered the prices on the roses to $3 each!! So now we have 350 roses. ♥ Can we get to 500 roses by Friday?  Thank you all for your participation and support ♥ Make sure you send your message to go with your rose or roses ♥”   Paypal missingMichael1000days@yahoo.com

This entry was posted in In His Words, Michael News, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Four Years Missing Michael Jackson

  1. SGAA says:

    Beautiful background story to a beautiful sentiment. This is what Michael is all about. Friendship, caring and eternal love worldwide. Thank you Jody for doing this. We will be happy to be involved in such a wonderful outpouring of love.

    Like

  2. PYTofChiTown says:

    Thanks for the recognition of Jody’s efforts

    Like

  3. Elke Kari says:

    So bittersweet to know my message so close to Michael. Loved and missed for all time.
    Special thanks to Jody for her entireless devotion. She makes this possible for us, who are on the other side of the planet.

    Like

  4. ljmissmj says:

    Love it Love It Love it! I never even realized this took place. When I read things like this – it fills me up with joy. I will be more than happy to participate and send whatever I can in support of this amazing effort . I won’t be able to be at Forest Lawn on Michael’s anniversary this June but my love and my prayers are with you all… Peace and Blessings Lesilie aka ljmissmj

    Like

  5. Doris says:

    I was Part of This Last Year ,and I will be as long as Jody choses to Glorify Michael in this way ,Michael is so deserving of this tribute ,He Has Touched our Hearts so deeply , each and every one of us I encourage all Michael Jackson’s Fans to Join in this Beautiful Tribute to A Gentle Man Who only wanted To bring Love and Peace back to this World.
    ~* Love And Peace*~
    God Bless

    Like

  6. judel03@charter.net says:

    I need some direction…I would like to contribute to the funds for the LATimes newspaper page…I have already purchased my 7 roses for OneRose4Michael…I would also like to include a message…how do I do it all. Thanks…Jude

    Like

  7. Silvily says:

    Thank you for recognizing Jody’s ongoing efforts and the love of all the fans that miss Michael. It’s all for L.O.V.E.

    Like

  8. Kati Murray says:

    Michael
    I hold you in my heart everyday. I know your goodness was a blessing to this world. I pray you are at peace in gods glow. xxxx

    KATI MURRAY
    SCOTLAND

    Like

  9. Jody La says:

    Thank you so much for recognizing ALL of our efforts. Both the roses and the ad are and were a group effort, first and foremost. None of this could have been done alone. It truly is all for LOVE of this incredible man.

    Like

  10. Georgia says:

    Will this be occurring again this year 2013? I attempted to go to their Facebook page and the link was a deadend. Would love to participate in such an amazing endeavor. Please someone let me know if this is still going to happen this year. Much appreciated.
    ( gutierrez.georgia@gmail.com )
    Thanks a million!

    Like

Leave a Reply

