Happy Birthday to Michael Jackson’s Invincible

                     

Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 8.36.08 AMWe’re wishing Happy Birthday to Michael Jackson’s – Invincible

Invincible is one of Michael Jackson’s best albums and one of the most underated-

Today we highlight the celebration of it’s releaese.

From website AllMichaelJackson.com

“The album Invincible was released world wide on October 30th, 2001. The album was the Michael’s first in 10 years that featured all new material. Invincible spent two years in production and cost approximately $30 million to make; reportedly the most expensive album ever made. The album featured 16 tracks, 14 of which Michael wrote or co-wrote; “Unbreakable”, “Heartbreaker”, “Invincible”, “Heaven Can Wait”, “You Rock My World”, “Speechless”, “2000 Watts”, “You Are My Life”, “Privacy”, “Don’t Walk Away”, “The Lost Children” and “Threatened”. R. Kelly contributed the anthem track “Cry” and UK duo Floetry contributed the beautiful “Butterflies”. Slash performed a guitar solo on “Privacy” and Santana contributed a guitar performance to “Whatever Happens”. The album featured two posthumous appearances; a rap performance by Notorious B.I.G on “Unbreakable” and samples of Rod Sterling’s voice on “Threatened”. Brandy contributed additional vocals to “Unbreakable”. Michael brought in Rodney Jerkins of Darkchild to produce and write on six of the tracks. Again, Michael produced the entire project himself and played many of the musical instruments. The album was initially released with cover art that came in five limited edition colours. Invincible went to number 1 in 13 countries including the US, UK and Australia. The album showed incredible first week sales in the US, selling over 300,000 copies. Invincible sold a massive 5.4 million copies in just two months of its release.

Michael was interviewed by TV Guide in early November 2001. He discussed his music, his 30th Anniversary celebration and fatherhood. On November 7th, Michael gave his first ever in-store signing appearance at the Virgin Mega Store in Times Square in New York City to promote Invincible.”

Michael, ever humble and gracious was interviewed by TRL in 2001 while promoting Invincible in New York 2001.

 “It’s a great honor, I’m very happy about it, we worked very hard on it and I’m blessed that the fans accepted it the way they did, and I’m very honored. I really am. I don’t take anything for granted. Everytime there’s a number one album or song I feel excited as if it’s the first one. . so I’m very happy about that.”

A multitude of  fans filled Times Square as they lined up to meet Michael and getautograph copies of Invincible.

Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 11.05.56 AM

Full transcript & video of TRL Interview

Always ready to give his love, hugs and admiration to new MJ Impersonators-Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 11.38.53 AM

Joe Vogel on the power and purpose behind Michael’s music:

“Whether protesting environmental destruction, racism, media distortion, materialism, war or injustice, Michael Jackson consistently used music as a means to challenge the status quo and change the world. While critics have been slow to acknowledge his dissident role, he stands alongside musicians like Bob Dylan, John Lennon and Radiohead as one of the most astute and powerful protest artists of the past century.”

Please visit Joseph Vogel website  – Revisiting Invincible for an insightful analysis of this great album and the effort that went into it’s creation by Chris Kohler entitled  “Invincible Goosebumps”

Enjoy Invincible tracks here-

“I always want to do music that influence and inspire people, each generation.  I mean, let’s face it, no one wants mortality, everyone wants immortality. You want what you create to live, be it sculpture, painting or music or a composition. Like Michelangelo said, you know, “ I know the creator will go but this work survives. That is why to escape death I attempt to bind my soul to my work.” That’s how I feel, I put my all in my work ‘cause I want it to just live, and give all that I have, you know. Yea, it has to be that way.”                   Michael Jackson  Ebony Mag 2007

We Support Michael’s Music Now and Forever –

This entry was posted in A Place in Your Heart Radio Shows, Michael News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday to Michael Jackson’s Invincible

  1. SGAA says:

    I feel this is one of Michael’s best album as well as the least known. The melodies, the lyrics are perfection. Happy Birthday Invincible.. “Here’s to all the lost childen”

    Like

  2. This album is my favorite of all my favorites. I play this front to back, random too a lot. I’ve had to buy more copies because I wear it out LOL I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this album. 🙂 It is one of MJ’s most brilliant albums. Happy Birthday. MJ’s Invincible

    Like

  3. This is so amazing. Time has really flown by. I adore Invincible, and I still hope that we will one day be able to give it all the applause it deserves. Awesome article, and beautifully positive! Thank you for an uplifting experience! Happy Birthday Invincible!

    Like

Leave a Reply

