Transcription of MJ BodyLanguage-CJB Part 6

 Martin Bashir with Michael Jackson 2003

CJB:  Hello and welcome to another video analysis on Understanding Body Language: Liars, Cheats and Happy Feet.  I’ve got a ton of requests to cover another video by Michael Jackson so I’ve scoured the net and found a new one for you.  So I’m going to run through his gestures his body language and his expressions and I’m going to see if he’s telling the whole truth. So let’s start at the beginning and we shall see Michael Jackson’s responses. (Starts video)

Martin Bashir:  … gave you two children as a present because she knew you wanted to be a father?

Michael Jackson:  Yeah it’s a lovely gesture.

MB:  Well, it’s an incredible gesture (snickers).

MJ:  Yeah, there are surrogate mothers who do that every day. That happens every day in the world. It’s happening right now.

Time: 00:44   CJB:  Okay, the first think I noticed there straight away is that Michael Jackson must be taking a strong anti depressant, which at this time in 2003 was quite well documented. Now I work in the medical field as well as doing body language for a living and anti-depressants elongate and relax the facial muscles which an make or can make certain words difficult to pronounce and I think that Michael Jackson had difficulty with the word “yes”. (Rewinds video)

MB:  (continues)… because she knew you wanted to be a father?

Michael Jackson:  Yeah it’s a lovely gesture.

MB:  Well, it’s an incredible gesture (snickers).

MJ:  Yeah, there are surrogate mothers that do that every day.

Time: 01:23   CJB:  So he has trouble with the word “yes” and that certainly, in my opinion, would come from a strong anti-depressant, which in this case was Prozac. So it relaxes and elongates the facial muscles here (points to Michael’s face around his mouth) making speech difficult and it also makes the face droop as well. So, in my opinion, Michael is taking a strong anti-depressant which is responsible for his speech … ummm… having difficulty pronouncing certain words. So let’s see what else we can pick up on.  (Continues video)

MJ:  .. it happens every day in the world.  It’s happening right now.

MB:  Is that how Blanket was born as well?

MJ:  (Nods) I used a surrogate mother and my own sperm cells.  I had my own sperm cells with my other two children.  (Pauses video)

Time:  02:01   CJB:   Okay, let’s just rewind that. Did you get all that?  Let me rewind that and explain it again first in case you missed it (Rewinds video)

MJ:  .. it happens every day in the world.  It’s happening right now.

MB:  Is that how Blanket was born as well?

MJ:  (Nods) I used a surrogate mother and I used my own sperm cells.  I had my own sperm cells with my other two children.  They are all my children. (Pauses video)

Time:  02:15   CJB:  So let’s just rewind it and let’s turn the music off and see what we will (turn his speech off) and let’s look at his non verbal’s (rewinds video) so we’ve got a head shake, and then we’ve got here head nods, so he’s nodding in agreement but look at his head shakes there so if you turn everything off it looks like he’s completely disagreeing with Martin Bashir. But actually what he is saying here (rewinds and replays video with sound on)

MJ:  ….. Mothers that do that every day.  It happens every day in the world. It’s happening right now.

MB:  Is that how Blanket was born as well?

MJ:  (Nods) I used a surrogate mother and I used my own sperm cells.  (CJB:  There you go)  I had my own sperm cells with my other two children.

Time: 02:50   CJB:  So non verbally he is saying he used his own sperm cells but he’s shaking his head no which is incongruent because it doesn’t match his verbal communication however in this case I wouldn’t read too much into that. I think he’s trying to get his point across but he’s giving a head shake. (Continues video)

MJ:  … they’re all my children but I used a surrogate mother.  (Michael touches his head)

Time: 03:10   CJB:  Adaptor, head touch.

MJ:  … she doesn’t know me, I don’t know her and ummm he was born.

MB:  How did you select the mother out of interest?

MJ:  It didn’t matter to me as long as she was healthy.  I didn’t care what race, I said as long as she’s healthy and she’s … (Pauses video)

Time: 03:26   CJB:  So what that is there is that’s an expression you have, a hand expression, and he’s pushing him away, if you noticed that.  That’s almost non-verbally an emblem.  (Rewinds and replays)

MJ:  I didn’t care what race, I said as long as she’s healthy (CJB:  he pushes him away, there you go) and she doesn’t have eye, her vision’s good

Time:  03:45   CJB:  Obviously he’s using illustrators here to show eyes, which is a gestural emblem which is good.

MJ:  I want to know, you know, I want to know how intelligent she is.

MB:  Would you have had… would you have conceived a child with a black woman as a surrogate mother?

MJ:  Of course, of course.

MB:  But, I’ve seen Blanket I think, it’s safe to say that his mother was probably white.

MJ:  No you’re wrong.

MB:  I’m wrong?

MJ:  Yeah.

MB:  Oh really?

MJ:  Yeah.

MB:  So Blanket’s mother’s black?

MJ:  Yeah.

MB:  But Blanket is so light.

MJ:  Black people were called “coloured people” because we come in all…. (Pauses video)

Time: 04:20   CJB:  Nice bit, I think Michael Jackson here is showing definite hallmarks of honesty. He uses an illustrator with his hands, an open palm gesture, to convey confidence.  (Rewinds and continues video)

MB:  So Blanket’s mother’s black?

Time: 04:29   CJB:  Head nods.

MB:  But Blanket is so light?

MJ:  Black people were called “coloured people” (CJB:  Yeah, this bit’s fine) because we come in all colours. From very white, as white as my hand…

Time: 04:40   CJB:  We are also seeing flashes of anger here as well. Also I think Michael is getting fed up now.

MJ:  … to the dark of your shirt.  My father has blue eyes and you know when they see Paris, they always think Debbie but that could easily be my father’s genes you know.

MB:  Really?

MJ:  Of course.

MB:  So when do you think you’re going to have your next child? (Pauses video)

Time:  05:01   CJB:  Now in this bit it’s very interesting.  Watch out for Michael Jackson and his reactions here and his lack of timing and synchronization between his words and his gestures and certainly his gesture emblems here so watch out for the lack of timing I think that Martin Bashir has caught Michael Jackson on the hop with this question. So let’s have a look.  (Continues video)

MB:  Really?

MJ:  Of course.

MB:  So when do you think you’re going to have your next child?

MJ:  I wish I could have it today.

Time: 06:26   CJB:  That’s the truth. Definitely.

MJ:  I was thinking about adopting two kids from each continent from around the world.

MB:  Really.

MJ:  Yeah.  (Pauses video)

Time:  05:36   CJB:  Did you notice that? Let’s scan back a bit. (Rewinds video)

MJ:  I wish I could have it today.

MB:  Really?

Time: 05:43   CJB:  That’s the truth.

MJ:  I was thinking about adopting (pauses video)

Time: 05: 46   CJB:  So he has a massive pause here. Right about three seconds and then continues. So if you’re really thinking about something you wouldn’t need to pause but I think Michael Jackson’s projection is trying to create something here.  Umm I’ve no doubt that he does what he says and wants to adopt children but I think he’s been caught on the hop…. I think he’s thought about this but I didn’t think… he didn’t think he’d be talking about this to Martin Bashir especially on the camera as well.  I’m sure that might have been a thought he has had but he’s not actually decided really to discuss it until now.  (Replays video)

MJ:  I wish I could have it today.

MB:  Really?

MJ:  I was thinking about adopting two kids… (Pauses video)

Time: 06:14   CJB:  And the reason I say this…. Two kids, but what does his hand gestural emblem say?  Three.  So he is showing three with his hands but he’s saying two with his words. So that’s incongruent right there.  If we were ever to do “three” we would do that (shows the “three” emblem with his fingers) make that gesture.  That’s the three gesture.  That’s the three gesture (focuses in on Michael’s three finger gesture).  With two.  That’s two (shows the two gesture with his fingers) you would put two up like that. So we would hide the thumb so Michael there is using an incongruent hand expression to tell verbally what he wants. (Continues video)

MJ:  … from each continent around the world.

MB:  Really?

MJ:  Yeah.   A boy and a girl…

MB:  (Interrupts) from every continent?

Time: 06:54   CJB:  And notice how his speech style completed changed on this video. From how he uses his voice, his vocal style has changed. So I think watching this video back a few times, I think he does want to pursue this idea of adopting two children from every continent but he’s not really discussed it with anybody yet and I think that’s why he’s struggling here because he’s not really thought it through actually he’s not thought about the logistics and probably the financial implications and that’s why there’s so many pauses. So let’s watch it again and let’s watch out for the pauses. It’s not like Michael Jackson at all.  (Replays video)

MJ:  I wish I could have it today.

MB:  Really?

MJ:  I was thinking about adopting two kids from each continent around the world.

MB:  Really?

MJ:  Yeah.   A boy and a girl…

MB:  (Interrupts) from every continent?

MJ:  on every continent.  That’s my dream.

Time: 07:45   CJB:  Just before he goes off we see a pursing of the lips. Watch out for the micro expression Michael flashes just before it cuts off. (Replays video)

MJ:  A boy and a girl…

MB:  (Interrupts) from every continent?

MJ:  on every continent.  That’s my dream.

Time: 08:04   CJB:  There you go. (Focusing on Michael’s pursed lips)

MB:  … that we came back to our meeting at Neverland with twelve year old Gavin. I’d found this easily, the most disturbing moment of the past eight months. (Continues video)

MB:  When you’re talking about children, we met Gavin and it was a great privilege to meet Gavin because he’s had a lot of suffering in his life.

MJ:  Yeah.

MB:  When Gavin was there you talked about that he shares your bedroom.

MJ:  Yeah (smiles)

MB:  Can you understand why some people would worry about that?

MJ:  Because they’re ignorant.

MB:  But is it really appropriate for a forty-four year old man to share a bedroom with a child who is not related to him at all?

MJ:  That’s a beautiful thing.

MB:  That’s not a worrying thing?

MJ:  Why should it be worrying?  Who’s the criminal? Who’s Jack the Ripper in the room?…. (Pauses video)

Time: 08:55   CJB:  Now this was possibly the most key part to the entire hour interview.  I must say I’ve watched this section back a few times and I’ve got to say to EVERYBODY out there that as I was watching this that Michael Jackson right now for this entire segment, while Martin Bashir is grilling him about this, shows hallmarks of HONESTY!  MICHAEL JACKSON DID NOT DO ANYTHING WRONG THAT I CAN SEE THROUGHOUT THIS VIDEO.  HE’S NOT A CRIMINAL IN THE SLIGHTEST. (Replays video)

MJ:  Why should it be worrying?  Who’s the criminal? Who’s Jack the Ripper in the room?  This is a guy trying to help heal a child.  I’m sleeping on a sleeping bag on the floor, I gave him the bed because he has a brother named Star so him and Star took the bed and I’m on the floor in the sleeping bag.

MB:  Did you ever sleep …. (Pauses video)

Time: 09:47   CJB:  So there you have spontaneous corrections, which again are the hallmarks of honesty.  You wouldn’t do it if you were lying about something. He’s using gestural emblems, he’s using illustrators with his speech and everything has timing and synchronization. So this bit is the GODS HONEST TRUTH but note how it differs from when he wants to adopt children elsewhere. He’s got long pauses and he’s got potential hallmarks of speech errors as well but that might come from his anti-depressants.  Here it’s completely different MICHAEL IS BEING COMPLETELY HONEST. (Continues video)

MB:  Did you ever sleep in the bed with them?

MJ:  No but I have slept in the bed with many children. I sleep in the bed with all of them. When Macaulay Culkin were little Kieran Culkin would sleep on this side Macaulay Culkin would sleep on this side, his sister’s in there, we’re all just jamming the bed.

Time:  10:31   CJB:  See, using illustrators.

MJ:  and we’d wake up like dawn and go in the hot air balloon and we have the footage, I have all that footage

MB:  But is that right Michael?

MJ:  It’s very right, it’s very right…

Time:  10:41  CJB:  Look at that definitely right.

MJ:  It’s very loving.  That’s what the world needs now.. (Pauses video)

Time:  10:44  CJB:  He’s making his point. He’s using another gestural emblem, he’s using the point to get his words across but there is all timing and synchronization there and that is the hallmark of honesty.  (Continues video)

MJ: …. More love, more heart.

MB:  The world needs a man whose forty-four (Pauses video)

Time:  11:00   CJB:  See Martin Bashir now is going down the wrong avenue here, he’s trying to make it be all sexual and Michael kicks in now. (Continues video)

MJ:  No, no you’re making – no you’re making it all wrong.

MB:  Well tell me, help me?

MJ:  Because what’s wrong with sharing a love?  You don’t sleep with your kids? Or some other kid who needs love who didn’t have a good childhood?

MB:  (Interrupts) No, no I don’t I would never dream of … (video continues to run)

Time:  11:21   CJB:  So he’s articulating with his hands. There are very few hand to face gestures here. There’s nothing here that’s giving it away for me. THERE IS NO SIGNS OF DECEPTION THROUGHOUT THIS VIDEO. 

MB:  If I’ve invited some of my daughter’s friends around or my son’s friends around and they’re going to sleep in the bed with me tonight

MJ:  That’s fine.

MB:  What do you think their parents would say?

MJ:  If they’re whacky they would say they can’t but if you’re close family, like you’re family, you know them well and ummm…

MB:  (interrupts) But Michael I wouldn’t like my children to sleep in anybody else’s bed.

MJ:  Well, I wouldn’t mind if I knew the person well and like if… I’m very close to Barry Gibb.. Paris and Prince can stay with him anytime my children sleep with other people all the time.

MB:  And you’re happy with that?

MJ:  I’m fine with it.  They’re honest, they’re sweet people.  (Pauses video)

Time:  12:13   CJB:  Double shoulder shrug you see that? We double shoulder shrug (continues video)

MJ:  ….can stay with him anytime my children sleep with other people all the time.

MB:  And you’re happy with that?

MJ:  I’m fine with it.  They’re honest, they’re sweet people.  (Michael shrugs his shoulder)

MB:  And you’re happy with that?

Time:  12:25   CJB:  There you go. Double is good you see any asymmetrical gestures lying, potential dishonesty double is fine.

MB:  … or what didn’t happen.

MJ:  What didn’t happen (points)

Time:  12:37   CJB:  Now watch this.  Let’s back up a bit here. (Rewinds video)

MJ:  …. sleep with other people all the time.

MB:  And you’re happy with that?

MJ:  I’m fine with it.  They’re honest, they’re sweet people.  They’re not Jack the Ripper.

MJ:  ….can stay with him anytime my children sleep with other people all the time.

MB:  And you’re happy with that?

MJ:  I’m fine with it.  They’re honest, they’re sweet people.  (Michael shrugs his shoulder)

MB:  And you’re happy with that?

Time:  12:46   CJB:  Now listen to the next bit.

MB:  I suppose the problem for many people is what happened in 1993 or what didn’t happen.

MJ:  What didn’t happen.

MB:  Just cast your mind back. What was that like when you first heard the allegations that were being made against you?

MJ:  It was shocking and I’m not allowed to talk about this by way of law so…

MB:  But how did you feel about what was being said?  I’m not asking you to talk about what was said…

MJ:  I was shocked because it’s ummm… God knows in my heart, how much I adore children (smiles and laughs)

MB:  But isn’t that precisely the problem that when you actually invite children into your bed you never know what’s going to happen

MJ:  But when you say “bed”

Time:  13:25   CJB:  ummm hmmm here we go

MJ:  ..you’re thinking sexual. It’s not sexual.

Time:  13:28   CJB:  Yep, he’s angry

MJ:  We’re going to sleep. I tuck them in, I put little (pauses video)

Time:  13:33   CJB:  He’s got timing and synchronization between the point and the word its spot on. (Continues video)

MJ:  music on and tell a story, I read a book.  It’s very sweet I put the fireplace on. (Pauses video)

Time:  13:43   CJB:  So he’s showing how to read a book. He’s opening his palms up yep hallmarks of honesty. (Continues video)

MJ:  I give them hot milk. You know we have cookies. It’s very charming, very sweet.

MB:  Sure

MJ:  It’s what the WHOLE WORLD SHOULD DO!

MB:  The reason that’s been given for why you didn’t go to jail was because you reached a financial settlement with the family.

MJ:  Yeah, yeah. I didn’t want a long drawn out thing like OJ

Time:  14:05   CJB:  This is the truth!

MJ:  and all that stupid stuff. It wouldn’t look right. I said look let’s get this over with I want to get on with my life; this is ridiculous I’ve had enough.

Time:  14:16   CJB:   Palm up.  Honesty!

MB:  I questioned him much further…

Time:  14:19   CJB:  There we go. So… that is the video analysis done. THE HALLMARKS OF HONESTY AGAIN ARE COMING THROUGH WITH MICHAEL JACKSON. IN MY EYES THROUGHOUT THIS VIDEO AND WHEN HE’S TALKING ABOUT THE ACCUSATIONS HE’S SHOWING THE CLASSIC HALLMARKS OF HONESTY. IN MY OPINION THE GUY DID NOTHING WRONG. So I hope you enjoyed that analysis on Understanding Body Language.  If you would like me to do more of Michael Jackson videos let me know and if you’ve watched this and enjoyed it please leave me a comment and I shall get back to you.  So from everyone from here take care and bye for now.

This entry was posted in Body Language, In His Words, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Transcription of MJ BodyLanguage-CJB Part 6

  1. SC says:

    Hi again! I was wondering, just as a comparison, can you do a small segment analyzing Martin Bashir’s body language perhaps, or someone else behaving dishonestly with Michael, so that we can see first hand how dishonesty comes across. I think it would be an interesting comparison. Thanks for these videos. I am going to link them to my blog.

    Like

  2. I am not very familiar with the science of body language analysis, so this question may seem stupid, but when CJB analysed Michael’s innocence statement from Neverland, he said that holding his palms upwards as if appealing for understanding, would have denoted dishonesty. However, in the Martin Bashir interview, palms held upwards meant honesty. I suppose it all depends on the content.

    Like

Leave a Reply

